Conservation areas

Conservation areas are places of historical or architectural importance that we want to preserve or enhance. These are not the like listed buildings as there are no national standards or grades. Local authorities decide which areas to protect.

In Hull there are 26 conservation areas -

  • Anlaby Park
  • Avenues and Pearson Park 
  • Beverley High Road 
  • Beverley Road 
  • Boulevard 
  • Broadway
  • Charterhouse
  • Coltman Street
  • Cottingham Road
  • Ella Street 
  • Garden Village 
  • Georgian New Town
  • Hessle Road 
  • Holderness Road (east) 
  • Holderness Road (west) 
  • Jameson Street 
  • Marfleet Village  
  • Newland
  • Newland Park  
  • Old Town
  • Prince's Avenue 
  • Sculcoates 
  • Spring Bank 
  • Spring Bank West 
  • St. Andrew's Dock 
  • Sutton Village

The mapping system My Hull Maps shows the location of each conservation area.

We put together a character appraisal for each area saying what is special about it. You can see these and large scale maps showing the boundaries of all the conservation areas at The Guildhall, Alfred Gelder Street.

Please make a prior appointment by emailing

You can download some of the character appraisals online.